About the Nobel Peace Prize :


Photo of Alfred NobelAlfred Nobel (1833-1896) was a Swedish chemical engineer and the inventor of dynamite and other explosives.  He developed dynamite to help make mining safer. Nobel took keen interest in social problems, and his dream and motivation were to be of service to mankind. When he died he created a fund, with interest on the bulk of his estate dedicated to financing prizes that were to be awarded annually to the persons whose work had been of the greatest benefit to mankind.  In 1900, the Nobel Foundation was established and statutes were adopted, creating the Nobel Prizes, including the Peace Prize.

The Nobel Peace Prize is awarded annually to the individual or group that has “done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies, and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses.”

For more detailed information about the Nobel Peace Prize download the “Introduction to the Peace Prize” lesson on the Teach Peace Webpage or visit the Norwegian Nobel Committee Webpage at: www.Nobel.no or http://nobelprize.org/.

American Winners of the Nobel Peace Prize

20 individuals and 3 groups from United States have won the Nobel Peace Prize, about one quarter of the total number awarded. One important mission of the Nobel Peace Laureate Project is honoring our countrymen who have received this prestigious international recognition for their contributions to world peace. We also provide information on why they were awarded the Peace Prize.

Below is a list of United States of America Peace Laureates. Click on the name of a laureate to go directly to a Webpage that contains a brief description of what they did to be honored with the Nobel Peace Prize and “.pdf” files with more comprehensive information and other resources about these winners.  These “.pdf” files are structured as lessons for students.

  1. Barack Obama, President of the United States, 2009
  2. Al Gore, former Vice President of the United States—2007
  3. Jimmy Carter, former President of the United States—2002
  4. International Campaign to Ban Landmines—1997
  5. Jody Williams, activist—1997
  6. Elie Wiesel, author of works on the Holocaust—1986
  7. International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War—1985
  8. Henry Kissinger, U. S. Secretary of State—1973
  9. Norman Borlaug, plant biologist—1970
  10. Martin Luther King, Jr. , Minister and advocate of non-violence—1964
  11. Linus Pauling, chemist and opponent of nuclear weapons testing—1962
  12. George Marshall, Secretary of State—1953
  13. Ralph Bunche, United Nations diplomat—1950
  14. American Friends Service Committee —1947
  15. John Mott, peace activist—1946
  16. Emily Balch, peace activist—1946
  17. Cordell Hull, Secretary of State—1945
  18. Nicholas Murray Butler, President of Columbia University—1931
  19. Jane Addams, social worker—1931
  20. Frank Kellogg, Secretary of State—1929
  21. Charles Dawes, Banker and later Vice-President of the United States—1925
  22. Woodrow Wilson, President of the United States—1919
  23. Elihu Root, Diplomat and former U. S. Secretary of State—1912
  24. Theodore Roosevelt, President of the United States—1906

Photo: Courtesy of and Copyright © The Nobel Foundation